Bringing Back the Disposable Camera

Looking back on this past year I can name 5 instances where myself or someone I know has used a disposable camera.  Digital cameras have been common since the mid-1990s, so why is the disposable camera still around? It’s not convenient, and the pictures look different.  I’ll start by explaining why I bought them.

  • They’re cheap: when I endeavored on events such as camping trips, studying abroad in Ecuador and the Galapagos, and working on a field site in St. John’s, the disposable camera seemed more practical.  If I dropped it, got it wet, or lost it, it didn’t matter.  So I lost a few pictures and ten dollars, it wasn’t the end of the world.  Had any of these events happened with my nicer, high-quality digital camera or phone, I would have a lot of explaining to do to my parents.
  • The second reason is that they look cool.  They don’t have the high-quality of the digital camera and the color is a little off.  But this is why people like them.  The prints have an old-fashioned look to them, and while this look can be applied with a filter in photoshop or on Instagram, it seems less superficial this way.

So sure, I still get the pictures put onto a disk so I can upload them to my computer and then to Facebook, the inconvenience of prints isn’t lost on me. And with developing technologies such as the Go-Pro camera which is pretty much indestructible, conveniences that the digital camera provides may be phased out completely.  However, I think that even in the most digital age theres always something to be said for being old-fashioned.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

